How to find deleted messages on WhatsApp

WhatsApp has been a favorite messaging app all over the world. The Facebook-owned app has maintained its popularity through the years; nevertheless, it faced some severe backlash last year when it announced its updated privacy policy. Users were appalled and considered the new policy as a violation of privacy. The messaging platform released feature after feature and reassured users that their privacy will be respected. The company’s efforts seem to have paid off since it was able to retain its users.

Millions of people use WhatsApp to share everything from family news to confidential information. One of the app’s most popular features is the ability to delete your mistakes. The function has saved many awkward moments, but it has now been found that those deleted messages can be recovered.

WhatsApp users may read deleted messages

You’re out of luck if you thought your gaffe was permanently erased. On both Apple and Android phones, there is a very simple way to obtain them.

The deleted message remains on your phone and can be retrieved using WhatsApp’s backup feature. The application backs up all of your messages, and users may choose whether they want their messages saved up daily, weekly, or monthly, or whether they don’t want them backed up at all.

To read a deleted message, you must first uninstall WhatsApp before reinstalling it. The app will give you the option to restore chats from a backup once you’ve logged back in. Your deleted messages will be included in these chats.

A New Feature in the Works

A few years ago, WhatsApp added new privacy settings that let you select who can access your Profile Picture, About and Last Seen settings. Each of those can be set to be accessible to Everyone, My Contacts, or Nobody, which doesn’t provide you a lot of flexibility. However, in a recent preview, WhatsApp incorporated a new “My Contacts Except” function for “Last Seen” that allows you to prevent some contacts from seeing your Last Seen status if you don’t want them to.

According to reports, the new feature will be available on both iOS and Android in the future. The settings for the Profile Picture and About will also be affected by the parameters. According to a screenshot on the internet, if you block someone’s Last Seen option, you won’t be able to see their Last Seen setting in return.

It’s worth noting that the flurry of new features on the Facebook-owned messaging app was released in response to the privacy policy scandal. The quantity of data sharing that the policies would require shocked users. Due to the harsh response, WhatsApp first postponed the upgrade, but it was eventually implemented. However, as aforementioned because of its new features, it has been able to keep its users.